Honey Dude · Love · Making + Baking

Chicken Pot Pie for Honey Dude

My husband is such a kind soul that he puts zero pressure on me to be Super Wife. At times I battle with putting that pressure on myself (like when I return after a week away with YDAO). But he, on the other hand, is just plain content, expectations: nada. The result: more baking and experimenting in the kitchen. More recipes. More apron-wearing. And more messes to clean up. But the best part: more smiles from HoneyDude.

I think I’ve been craving this little life change for some time. I just didn’t know it. So thank you, husband, for being so loving and sweet and wonderful that I want to make chicken pot pie for you. It’s a fun little journey, Mister. xo

Look mom! A pie!
Oh boy, it was too good to be true. Shameless, I know.

Now I’m not really a Martha Stewart or anything. I just try. (Which makes it fun!) And while I can’t say I’ve even tried or enjoyed chicken pot pie much in my life, it was nonetheless beckoning me like a challenge I needed to conquer. So I sought out a recipe and went to work. Straight off a long work trip, and with a day off, Super Wife threw on her apron, determined to make a savory little pie for Hubby.

The final word: Ultra delish. I will definitely make this one again!

   Chicken Pot Pie

    Prep Time: 30 Min | Cook Time: 50 Min | Ready In: 1 Hr, 20 Min

    Ingredients:

  • 1 pound skinless, boneless chicken breast halves, cubed
  • 1 cup sliced carrots
  • 1 cup frozen green peas
  • 1/2 cup sliced celery
  • 1/3 cup butter
  • 1/3 cup chopped onion
  • 1/3 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon black pepper
  • 1/4 teaspoon celery seed
  • 1 3/4 cups chicken broth
  • 2/3 cup milk
  • 2 (9 inch) unbaked pie crusts

    Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees F (220 degrees C.)
  2. In a saucepan, combine chicken, carrots, peas, and celery. Add water to cover and boil for 15 minutes. Remove from heat, drain and set aside.
  3. In the saucepan over medium heat, cook onions in butter until soft and translucent. Stir in flour, salt, pepper, and celery seed. Slowly stir in chicken broth and milk. Simmer over medium-low heat until thick. Remove from heat and set aside.
  4. Place the chicken mixture in bottom pie crust. Pour hot liquid mixture over. Cover with top crust, seal edges, and cut away excess dough. Make several small slits in the top to allow steam to escape.
  5. Bake in the preheated oven for 30 to 35 minutes, or until pastry is golden brown and filling is bubbly. Cool for 10 minutes before serving.

    Becky tips:

  1. Buy a whole roasted chicken from the deli and shred half for this recipe; save the other half for tomorrow’s dinner
  2. Cook veggies in broth for extra flavor.
  3. Omit celery seed. Who buys that?
  4. Cook onions in olive oil. It’s better for you and just as tasty.
  5. Definitely buy pre-made crusts. Just allow time for them to thaw!
  6. Find this recipe and more on allrecipes.com, my go-to for yummy, tried-and-true recipes with honest reviews.
Please be a dear and comment on my post:

