Country Life · Honey Dude · Love · Making + Baking

Love and Chicken Noodle Soup

When I get sick, I just want to lay on the couch and hurt. And I certainly don’t shy away from baby-ing myself. I let the dishes stack up, I stack bundles of used tissue on the floor beside me, I stay in my jammies all day. And I don’t feel bad about it.

So when Honey Dude got sick, I wanted to baby him, too. Despite his offer to help, I insisted he lie down and rest while I made him a warm little remedy affectionately known as chicken noodle soup.

I’m learning that there is nothing like love to get you to try new things. You know, the things you say you’re going to try, but never do. That’s me and chicken noodle soup. I knew it was probably the easiest soup ever, and that store-bought varieties were gross, in comparison. I’d just been dragging my feet, you know?

Naturally, I went to allrecipes.com to find a community-loved recipe. I landed on “Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup.” Perfect name, simple ingredients, ready in 45 minutes. I can handle this, I thought.

 

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup, slight adaptions by me

Ingredients:

  • 12 oz. wide egg noodles
  • 4 cups chicken broth
  • 4 cups low-sodium chicken broth
  • 1 1/2 tbsp salt
  • 1 tsp poultry seasoning
  • 1 cup celery, chopped
  • 1 cup onion, chopped
  • 2 medium carrots, chopped
  • 1/3 cup cornstarch (mixed with 1/4 cup water)
  • 1 lb boneless, skinless chicken breast meat, cooked
  • 1 lb boneless, skinless chicken thigh meat, cooked
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1/4 cup water

Directions:

  1. Bring a large pot of lightly salted water to a boil. Add egg noodles and boil for 8 minutes, or until tender. Drain, and rinse under cool running water.
  2. Brown both sides of chicken in olive oil over medium heat, turning after about 4 minutes; then add 1/4 cup water, cover and boil until cooked through.
  3. Chop chicken into bite sized pieces and set aside.
  4. In a large pot or Dutch oven, combine broth, salt, and poultry seasoning. Bring to a boil. Stir in celery, carrots, and onion. Reduce heat, cover, and simmer 15 minutes.
  5. In a small bowl, mix cornstarch and water together until cornstarch is completely dissolved. Gradually add to soup, stirring constantly. Stir in noodles and chicken, and heat through.
  6. Serve with a hearty dose of love.
Please be a dear and comment on my post:

