Faith · Health

Yes I almost became a Jazzercise instructor

So for a little while there I actually thought I was going to be a Jazzercise instructor. No, I’m not kidding.

It all started a couple of years ago when my stepmom invited me to a class. I was visiting from out of town, so it was a no-brainer; I needed the exercise. Plus, dance was fun. And my stepmom was Hot Stuff around there. I had to check out her scene, you know?

I was hooked at once! It was so incredibly fun. And easy. And the ladies in the classes were adorable little dolls of joy. They made me smile with their non-dancer moves and hootin and hollerin. It was all very different from the fitness scene I was used to, where the girls wear make-up and straighten their hair for class. Maybe that’s just the difference between Minnesota Nice and Portland Spice…

At any rate, I had enough people tell me that I should be an instructor that it went to my head. Maybe I should be an instructor, I thought. Ooh, then you get to workout for free and just have a whole bunch of fun giggling with girls as you can-can your way through the music. Yes, it sounded too good to be true.

As it turns out, it is. Right as I was about to get serious with the training I found a forum where former and current Jazzercise instructors went all-out bailing session on the system. It sounded like a nightmare! First, you pay $2,000 for training, and then it is just downhill from there with all of the random expenses and conferences you’re expected to attend. But the worst of it is that Jazzercise has some sort of monopoly on you from that point onward. Like they get royalty from your fitness career, whether it’s Jazzercise related or not! Uh… No. Thank. You.

I’m glad I don’t go chasing after every little rainbow that comes my way. If I did, we could have a little situation. Honey Dude is of course the best sounding board I could get. He’s rational yet supportive of my dreams. And above all, he loves to encourage me. It’s a treat to run things by him and have a second opinion. Man, it’s like God knew I needed someone to ground me. He also knew I needed someone to push me. Honey Dude’s routine response to big dreams: Walk by faith. It’s the best advice I’ve ever heard. And I never tire of hearing it.

 

 

6 thoughts on “Yes I almost became a Jazzercise instructor

  1. Thank you for your words of wisdom! I was considering getting sucked into being an instructor too! After doing some of my own research and hearing your story……I’ll pass!

  2. I joined Jazzercise a few months ago. Since I have been doing folk dancing for many years, I am able to learn the routines fairly quickly and “move graciously” as people have told me. I’ve been asked to consider becoming an instructor. Can you share where you found about the company getting royalty on your fitness career. I still perform for my dance group and I don’t want to jeopardize that. Anything that would help in getting more information would be extremely helpful and appreciated! :-)

Please be a dear and comment on my post:

