Faith · Love

Grannie the Prayer Warrior

My grannie is the most wonderful grannie in the world. I know you would like to argue this point, but she wins. She is arguably the most loving and sweet, generous and kind individual you have ever met. And best of all: she is a known prayer warrior in our family.

Now I like to think I have a healthy prayer life, but when I think about the focus of my prayers (being mostly me-centered), I realize I actually have a crummy prayer life with lots yet to learn. My grannie is my inspiration! Her prayers are so selfless, so others-focused. And she is unceasing! I believe I have been very blessed by those prayers. More than I could ever know.

Honestly, I’ve often thought there has to have been a boat-load of prayers out there for all the good fortune I’ve endured here on this earth. Fortunes of love and kindness, joy and laughter, amazing family and friends. Is it a stretch to believe that the prayers of my grannie and others have brought on this good fortune?

If not, then why not? Do we actually believe in the power of our prayers, and the value of interceding for others?

If not, what is the point of praying? Simple communion with God? I don’t believe so. I think He values time spent with us, yes. But I also think He is just waiting for us to come to Him with requests, bold and all. Because that requires faith. That requires the underlying notion that He can do things we could not ever even imagine.

Do you pray prayers like that? Do you see God not as a wishing well but as a loving Father who actually wants to bless us?

Today I was reading a verse that caught my attention, from 1 John 3: How great is the love the Father has lavished on us, that we should be called children of God! And that is what we are!  

That is what we are! I think I will understand this verse more when I am a parent. To love one’s own child, to want the best for them, to care after them and sacrifice for them… this love I cannot even fathom. But if I could grant my child his wishes, your darn right I would. BUT only if those wishes were wise and good.

2 thoughts on “Grannie the Prayer Warrior

  1. Don’t know how I missed this post a few years back. Yes, Grannie is the best. I’m convinced that her selfless prayers are the key to her long life. She is just too valuable here on earth as she ushers in the Kingdom of God in her own quiet way. Love you Grannie!

Please be a dear and comment on my post:

