Entertaining · Making + Baking

Wing-It Apple Crisp

A couple of weeks ago I went to a friend’s house and watched her “wing” an apple crisp right before my very eyes. No recipe. Just chopped and tossed. I was flabbergasted.

Now she is one of those country girls who grew up on a hunk of land with lots of siblings and probably tons of apple trees, so you can almost expect she would pull something off like that. Just like she went dusk-til-dawn with a canning spree that plum filled her cupboards. It’s just like her.

Still. I had to take note. Her biggest hint: use oats. And make sure to put some water in the pan so the apples can steam cook.

Now, thanks to our fine neighbors, we had a big bucket of apples sitting in our kitchen just itching to be used. So after being served a second apple crisp later that week, I knew it was time to try my own hand at the trade. Because really, there is nothing like apple crisp.

I can’t say I entirely winged it, because I did look at a couple of recipes. But I did alter them. The result: perfect, if I don’t say so myself. Apples that were soft, a crunchy, crumbly topping that was sugar and spice and everything nice. I was just so… pleased!

Yummy easy apple crisp
Yummy easy apple crisp

So here it is: my very own recipe for an excellent apple crisp, easy as pie. Wait, easier than pie. Way easier. Enjoy it late at night with friends, ice cream, and decaf coffee.

Ingredients:

  • Six medium apples, peeled and sliced
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1 cup oats
  • 2/3 cup flour
  • 2/3 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup butter, melted
  • A good shake of cinnamon

Directions:

  1. Peel your apples and slice them into thin, 1/4-inch-thick chunks; toss into your casserole dish
  2. Cover apples with 1/4 cup tap water
  3. Melt butter and mix with the flour, oats, and brown sugar
  4. Add in cinnamon to taste (maybe 1 tsp?)
  5. Spoon mixture over apples; don’t press down firm
  6. Bake in a 350-degree oven for 30 minutes or until apples are soft and the top is nice a golden brown
  7. Serve with vanilla bean ice cream
  8. Enjoy as a late-night snack (or breakfast, as Honey Dude likes it)
3 thoughts on “Wing-It Apple Crisp

Please be a dear and comment on my post:

