Health

Losing sight of the goal

I just spent four days away. Away from Honey Dude, away from weekly commitments, away from life as I typically know it, with all of its old-fashioned routine and structure.

It was hard.

No, it’s not that I didn’t enjoy the conference or the people. It’s that I’m stuck in a place where all of my norms are not. My normal breakfast, my normal lunch, my now normal cup of decaf coffee each morn.

And that is where the largest difficulties lie. In food. Because even when you don’t normally eat spaghetti, you eat spaghetti. Even when you don’t drink regular coffee, you do it because there is no decaf. And so all of a sudden, all of those healthy food choices you vow to make at home are compromised simply because you are away.

Candy stash
How I felt like I ate all week…

I dislike this pattern in my life. It’s almost as if I switch my brain into vacation mode where anything goes. It’s this self-pity comfort thing that says: Hey, I’m being put out right now. Inconvenienced. I deserve to splurge.¬†Explains why Honey Dude ate ice cream every night I was gone, come to think of it…

At any rate, I don’t want to lose sight of my goals simply because my scene has changed. There are always food choices to make. And frankly, I can do a better job. Why is it so difficult to remember that the gluten-rich, calorie-laden meals and poor portion choices leave a toll on my body? Come on, girl; don’t lose sight of the very goals you live by!

4 thoughts on “Losing sight of the goal

    1. It’s hard when you are not in charge of your diet…like, when you are a guest and someone else prepares the meal, or someone else brings unhealthy food into your home. You don’t want to offend the “hands that prepared it”. Oh, who am I trying to fool? Forgive me, Lord, and help me to quit making excuses.

      1. Haha, yes. Being a guest is lovely in that way. You have no other options! And yet, I can control my portion sizes and not go back for seconds. This trip, I mostly went back for more salad. One small victory in there!

Please be a dear and comment on my post:

