Making + Baking

Pumpkin Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

Pumpkin Oatmeal Chocolate Chip CookiesPer my last several blog posts, it’s pretty obvious I’m a pumpkin fan. But really, there is no “fan” about it. I am downright obsessed. I even thought to make my own pumpkin ice cream today. Then I heard wisdom’s little voice saying: Just go to Trader Joe’s. They have a yummy one all made up for you. Much smarter, yes.

But I did try my hand at these delectable pumpkin oatmeal chocolate chip cookies, discovered on the blog, 52 Kitchen Adventures (whose author is equally enamored with pumpkin delights, btw).

Unforch, we had a bit of a situation in the kitchen. To start, this came on a day when Honey Dude and I were sharing the oven for “his” and “her” cookies (and simmering a lovely beef stew, to boot). So it’s only natural that something odd would happen. And wouldn’t you know, the sugar got left out.

Correction: almost got left out.

I had just mixed together my wet and dry ingredients when I licked my finger and saved the day. Clearly the sugar had been forgotten. Adding the brown sugar at that point meant whipping it into the oat mixture with a fierce hand (to which I enlisted Honey Dude). The result: disturbed oats.

Now I don’t know if you’ve ever seen the words “mix until just blended” in a recipe, but it implies that over-mixing will take its toll. And in this case, it did. The oats had been compromised. So even though the taste was out-of-this-world, the texture was a bit chewier than it ought to have been. Not that I didn’t expect it. But now I’ve vowed to try the recipe again, just to make sure. Bummer? I think not.

Stay tuned for my thorough report.

Please be a dear and comment on my post:

