Making + Baking · Uncategorized

Pumpkin Ice Cream Pie

If you’ve been following my blog, you will know that I am slightly obsessed with pumpkin. I love it. The only pumpkin dessert I’ve ever disliked is pumpkin pie. In fact, I’ve never met a pumpkin pie I’ve liked. It’s a texture thing.

Pumpkin ice cream pie, on the other hand? Delish.

I had my first pumpkin ice cream pie at a work dinner party. With an oreo cookie crust. It was divine.

Now I was already a monster fan of the Pumpkin Ice Cream at Trader Joe’s. It is by far the best ice cream ever. Even just one mounding spoonful will do the trick post-dinner. It is creamy and dreamy and wonderful. So that added with a yummy pecan-gingersnap crust? Yes, please.

pumpkin ice cream pie recipe
Discovering the pumpkin ice cream pie recipe

I discovered The recipe in a book I checked out from the library called, Seriously Simple Holidays by Diane Rossen Worthington. Being as I am in a pumpkin-induced stupor currently, my swoons over this ice cream pie were not enough. I had to make it.

I, of course, modified the recipe to be easier. The original recipe calls for added caramel. But I thought this was rich enough, plenty flavorful. Why add calories when you don’t need to? There is plenty in there already! But hey, it’s a good treat to serve your friends.

Ingredients:

  • 2 tbsp finely chopped pecans
  • 1 1/2 cups (about 30) ginger snaps, ground into fine crumbs (using a food processor or rolling pin and Ziploc baggie)
  • 6 tbsp unsalted butter, melted
  • 2 pints pumpkin ice cream
  • 16 pecan halves for garnishing

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 375-degrees. Tightly line a 9-inch pie plate (and sides) with aluminum foil.
  2. Make the crust: In a bowl, mix together the pecans and gingersnap crumbs. Add the butter and toss the crumbs to blend well. Press the crumbs evenly over the bottom and sides of the plate, using the back of a spoon, the heel of your hand, or your fingers. Chill until firm, about 30 minutes. Bake for 8 minutes, or until just set. Let cool.
  3. Chill the crust in the freezer for 2 hours. Remove from freezer and unmold the pie shell onto a flat surface, being very careful when peeling away the foil so that the shell stays intact. Return it to the pie plate.
  4. Make the filling: Soften the ice cream in a large bowl and mix with a large spoon until thoroughly blended, with no lumps. Spoon into the pie shell and smooth with a spatula. Arrange pecans around the edge of the pie, pushing them into the ice cream.
  5. Freeze the pie for at least 2 hours. When it is frozen, cover tightly with foil. To serve, thaw slightly in the refrigerator for 20 minutes. Cut into wedges and serve with decaf coffee.
2 thoughts on “Pumpkin Ice Cream Pie

    1. The cookie crust was very easy. And yummy. I think you can find pumpkin pie ice cream at the grocery store, if a Trader Joe’s is too far.

Please be a dear and comment on my post:

