Making + Baking

Apple Sausage Stuffing featuring Cranberry Ciabattini Rolls

I love stuffing. It is, hands down, the best part of Thanksgiving dinner. Or any dinner, for that matter.

Which is why I made it last week, simply because it sounded delicious… and because I long ago determined these cranberry “Ciabattini” rolls from Portland French Bakery would make a killer stuffing. As predicted: amazing. The flavors found in the apple chicken sausage and applesauce added the appropriate sweetness, while the pecans added warmth. Honey Dude and I loved it, wishing we’d opted to have just that for dinner, instead of pairing it with pork loin and brussel sprouts.

Best of all, I like to think of it as my very own recipe! I looked at tons of recipes to get an idea of what I wanted, but I never found the perfect collection of ingredients. So I winged it and hoped for the best. The cranberry rolls did not disappoint! I’m not sure you’ll be able to find these rolls outside of Portland. But if you are in Portland, you can find Portland French products at Fred Meyers and Winco, and maybe even Costco.

Ingredients:

Yummy Cranberry Ciabattini Rolls by Portland French Bakery
  • One bag (12 rolls) of Portland French Bakery’s cranberry ciabattini rolls (or use ciabata bread and add dried cranberries)
  • 2 tbsp butter
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 3 celery stalks, chopped
  • 5 links apple chicken sausage, casings removed
  • 1/2 cup applesauce
  • 1/2 cup pecans, chopped
  • 1/3 cup parsley, chopped
  • 1 tbsp thyme
  • 3 tbsp butter, cut into small pieces

Directions:

  1. Put your rolls on a wire rack to dry out overnight
  2. Once dried, chop them into half-inch or one-inch cubes; set aside
  3. Saute your onion in equal parts butter and olive oil (yes both: makes a ton of difference!); after five minutes, add the chopped celery and saute another 4 or 5 minutes; toss with salt and pepper and transfer to a large bowl
  4. Using the same pan, brown the sausage (make sure you’ve removed the casings); let cool and then add to your bowl of onions/celery
  5. Add the thyme, parsley, and pecans before mixing in the applesauce and bread cubes; season with salt and pepper, if needed
  6. Transfer stuffing to an oiled casserole dish and drop small pads of butter on the top
  7. Cover with foil and bake for 30 minutes at 360-degrees. Remove the foil and bake another 10 minutes or until the top is browned. Enjoy immediately… and never feel bad about making it the main course!

Wishing you all a lovely Thanksgiving! Thank you for your love, your thoughts, your encouragement. For inspiring and challenging me. For reading my geeky little blog. I heart you! xo

One thought on “Apple Sausage Stuffing featuring Cranberry Ciabattini Rolls

  1. Becky This sounds Ah-mazing! I agree that stuffing can be a meal and is the best thing on my thanksgiving plate! I hope you don’t mind my username has a similar ring to yours. It can be so stressful agonizing over a username but it just came right off the top! I miss you and love you! HAPPY, BLESSED, OVERFLOWING THANKSGIVING TO YOU AND HONEY DUDE!

Please be a dear and comment on my post:

