Arts + Crafts · Making + Baking · Style

Make Your Own Window Pane Jewelry Display

A shame to keep one's jewelry all knotted up like this!
A shame to keep one’s jewelry all knotted up like this!

It all started about a month back when, out of the blue, I decided my knotted up bundle of necklaces needed a better home. Not just for looks, but for the sanity of it all! Honestly, if I had to un-jumble another strand from the mess, I would burst. It simply didn’t help that my “jewelry chest” consisted of a Ziplock baggie and ugly, plastic container. Oh the shame!

So I set to work. After consulting my precious facebook community, I took the advice of a friend and hit up the local Rebuilding Center in Portland, where they had rows of used window frames and doors, plus tiles and knobs and light fixtures aplenty.

It was there I found my window, a perfect eight-paned piece with vintage charm. You pay by the pane here, so it ended up being $24. Totally worth it for the aesthetics.

My score: a lovely 8-paned window frame
My score: a lovely 8-paned window frame

After wiping it clean (but not too clean, as to preserve its worn, imperfect charm), I screwed in some utility hooks. At Honey Dude’s suggestion, I found it much easier to pre-drill the holes with a power drill (using a smaller drill bit than the screw hook, so it can still grip the wood).

Setting the hooks
Setting the hooks

Next came the earring section. Honey Dude happily took a hammer to the glass, being careful to clear out all the remaining shards of glass. We cut the chicken wire down to size, slipping one of the four sides down into the seam and using a hot glue gun and small strips of wood to anchor the wire to the frame.

Chicken wire
Wood chunks and hot glue do a good job of securing the chicken wire.

Next, it was time to fasten some hooks into the frame so it could hang. We looked at all sorts of options and decided this was the best route. Because the glass would show the wire hanger behind, Honey Dude rigged it so it wouldn’t show, using two nails set at the corners, which rerouted the wire around the glass.

The picture hanging kit includes a hook you screw into the wall, plus wire and clips you screw into the frame
The picture hanging kit includes a hook you screw into the wall, plus wire and clips you screw into the frame

 

All finished! Now to add the jewelry...
All finished! Now to add the jewelry…

I know you can barely see it, but I had a meltdown about the wall hanger being exposed; it just seemed so ugly. I couldn’t look past it. After Honey Dude tried a few times to remedy the problem, we realized it simply wouldn’t work. I concluded it was better to have that show than to have the wire showing through behind the frame. But it was no fret at all when I realized I could cover it up with a red scarf that also added color appeal. Oh it looked sharp!

Ta Da! A nice window pane jewelry display!
Ta Da! A nice window pane jewelry display!

I was so happy with the finished product that I would trot into my bedroom and just stare at it, gloating and giddy. Nope, not humble at all. Proud as can be.

But really, it was pretty simple and fairly inexpensive. Well worth it, considering I got a lot of joy out of making it. So much so that it kept me on a crafty kick for a few weeks! Man it feels good to know what you’re capable of!

2 thoughts on “Make Your Own Window Pane Jewelry Display

    1. You know what? We did add one picture, keeping it asymmetrical. I just took the photo before it was finished. For the other pane, I was thinking of writing on the glass with a dry erase marker. Maybe a quote or scripture, or just plain “love”.

Please be a dear and comment on my post:

