Health

Resolutions

I’ve never been a fan of New Year’s resolutions. Honestly, I don’t know if I’ve ever had one. I just think it’s funny that the start of a new year should spawn some sort of habit change. If you want to change, then do. Anytime of the year works. Just do it. Purpose your heart to make tomorrow the day. And if you fail, try again the next day.

We are so excited about our happy little plates... and time together!
We are so excited about our happy little plates… and time together!
Grilling with Kayla
Grilling with Kayla
Yummy!
Yummy!

I suppose some people just need that big calendar shift to recognize that the days — and subsequently, years — are ticking by, and the bad habits are stacking up. Which is why I say, don’t wait!

Maybe it’s easier said than done.

My struggles often involve food. I love food, you see. It’s a running joke in my family that our togetherness ultimately revolves around food. Even while we’re eating, we talk about where and when we’ll eat next. Like it’s the next source of entertainment on the list.

I love it, because I love to eat. So naturally, I want to know where and when we’ll eat next. I’ll have to gear up and prepare accordingly. You know, space out my fat intake and make sure I get my veggies somewhere in there. Well, that’s the idea anyways.

But at the end of the day, do I really do it? Do I really evaluate my intake and conclude that I’ve had too much “x” so I’ll have to pass this time. You know, I don’t think I do. I think I’d just like to. So I talk about it, as if I do.

I am fooling nobody but myself. Which is very sad. How do we fool our own self?! Seriously, I am aghast right now thinking that I am capable of such a feat. But in truth, we probably fool ourselves plenty every day. Like scripture says, it is easier to notice the log in someone else’s eye than to see the plank in our own. And while other people’s logs seem to irk and frustrate us, our own plank is the only one we can deal with.

We just want to think the best of ourselves, don’t we? We want to think we’ve got everything in order, so we feel good about ourselves and make it through the day. But if I fessed up to my imperfections, I’m sure I would be a better servant to others and to God. I would certainly be healthier in body, mind, and spirit.

So maybe it’s time to settle my accounts with myself. Now that I’ve just unlocked a source of pride, I think I’ll make some resolutions, after all. Not because it’s a new year, but because it’s time.

One thought on “Resolutions

  1. I, myself, love the New Year. After the busyness of Christmas, it’s nice to take a quiet break, and sit down with a cup of coffee. I like to reflect with thankfulness on the events of the year past, and yes, set some goals for the coming year. A few years back, I wrote a round-to-it list. You know the one, those little things you have been meaning to do (for years) and never got around to. The list was short, about six items, and included such simple things as making contact with a cousin I had never met, and fixing (simple fix) a piece of furniture. I taped the list to my bedroom mirror. That year, I completed every task on the list. Why? Because they were ever before me and not forgotten. When free time presented itself, I was able to make good use of that time and check one off.

    F.Y.I. I have declared 2013 the year of Blessing. Live each day with the expectancy that our God is generous and kind. He takes great delight in giving good gifts to His Beloved Children. “Every good and perfect gift comes from above.”

Please be a dear and comment on my post:

