gluten free · Health · Making + Baking · Paleo

Comfort food: Chicken drummies and parsnip mash

Chicken drummiesAt some point during The Cleanse, I tired of grilled chicken. So in an effort to change things up a bit, I reached for a pack of chicken drumsticks at the market, with visions of comfort food piled high on my plate.

Whether they were battered and fried or drowned in a BBQ sauce, recipes across the web were littered with flour or sugar, or some other ingredient I couldn’t have.

I found two recipes that looked promising. The one from Cherished Advice sounded interesting and healthy, since she boils off the skin, dye, and preservatives before broiling. I still have yet to try this method because her “season to taste” comment sent me searching for a good gluten-free, dairy-free, sugar-free, egg-free seasoning combo, which led me to discover an altogether different recipe, and lemon pepper.

Unforch, the recipe I found was for wings, not drumsticks. And grilling not baking. But I made a few adjustments and the finished product came out strong. The very unexpected lemon pepper was a big hit with my taste buds. Big. I can’t wait to make these again, without the skin. Apparently they still come out crispy! I have to try it out.

Ingredients:

  • 4-6 chicken drumsticks
  • 2 tbsp lemon pepper
  • 2 tbsp olive oil

Directions:

  1. Pre-heat your oven to 375-degrees.
  2. Wash and pat dry your chicken.
  3. Brush chicken with olive oil, then roll it in, or sprinkle with, a hearty dose of lemon pepper.
  4. Place on a foil-covered baking sheet and bake for 40 minutes.
  5. Flip the chicken and bake for another 20 minutes, or until done.
  6. Serve with crispy kale chips and parsnip mash for dreamy comfort food at its finest.
3 thoughts on “Comfort food: Chicken drummies and parsnip mash

  1. Indeed, I have always enjoyed lemon-pepper. Discovered it while in Montana. It is also great with fish. Sometimes, I just pan cook fish or chicken on the stovetop, using fresh lemons and freshly ground pepper. I appreciate all the time you commit to research recipes. You go, Girl!

    1. Yes, with fish is great! I need to restock on the stuff. I think it’s my new fave spice combo. Fresh lemon and pepper sounds like a great option, too. There are too many good recipes out there to NOT explore!! :)

  2. Okay, BeckyBlueEyes, I’m polishing off the last of the chocolate eggs, black jellybeans, and dairy saturated cheesy potatoes. THEN, you have inspired me to up my game. I don’t think I can handle a 30 day cleanse, but I REALLY need to do something. Tomorrow, (famous last words) we will start making improvements on our diet. I looked up the Paleo diet which you referenced, and was happy to see that you can eat grass-fed beef… which is amazing. The fat in grass-fed beef has the same omega 3 fats as salmon (instead of the omega 6 of corn-fed beef). Who knew? PLUS, it simply tastes better. F.Y.I. Montana beef is generally grass fed, because it is free-range cattle…and yummy). Thanks for the inspiration and recipes! You are a Rock-Star in my world.

Please be a dear and comment on my post:

