Favorite Things · gluten free · Health · Making + Baking · Paleo

Lemon Coconut Bars

I’ve never “re-blogged” a post before. But if there was ever one to re-blog, it is this one: Lemon Coconut Bars that are nothing but pure clean goodness. No dairy, no gluten, no sugar. Yet yummy. I WILL make these, mark my words! Thanks, Cycling Chef, for sharing your love of good food with us!

The Cycling Chef

Aaaaaaaaaaaaaaannnnnnnnnnnnnndddddddd . . . we’re back! Sometimes I feel like this little blog of mine is like that neglected flower on the corner of the desk. You know the one. Its leaves are a little brown and shriveled, the dirt is less like dirt and more like mossy dust and it sits there in its pot, taunting you daily with your bad parenting skills, only to bounce back and grow lush and strong again once you remember that the poor sucker just needs some water and sunshine. Duh! So ya, my food blog sometimes feels like a sad little plant.

There has been cooking aplenty over here though! Soups and salads, gourmet sandwiches, smoothies, cookies, frittatas and breakfast for dinner. Sadly, I haven’t had a chance to take pictures of ay of these. However, I do have a photo of a lovely little bar that is raw, vegan and gluten-free…

View original post 214 more words

7 thoughts on “Lemon Coconut Bars

    1. Were you able to get the recipe? It’s there, if you click the link that says, “Read more. 265 more words…”. I made them yesterday, and they were mighty delish!

  1. Those do look yummy. And sometimes, don’t you just need to feel like you are eating gluten and sugar? Or, is that just me?

    1. Yes! I just ran to Bob’s Red Mill here in Portland, chock full of all sorts of gluten-free goodies, and scored some unsweetened coconut flakes and unsweetened shredded coconut. And I got my dates from Trader Joe’s. Yep, I was serious. I am making them stat! xo

  2. Please share how they turned out! I have most of the ingredients and they look yummy! Did you use dried dates? If so, I think I have all of the ingredients and I may need to try making these asap.

    1. They turned out super yummy! However, several pieces of walnuts (which I used instead of almonds) turned rock hard. I mean, break-your-teeth hard. So I have to eat them carefully. Apparently this happens to nuts when sugar is paired with them? I would suggest chopping the nuts separately from the dates in the food processor, then combining. But do make them! Yum, for sure.

Please be a dear and comment on my post:

