gluten free · Making + Baking · recipes · Uncategorized

Patience. And Salmon Wow Burgers

Patience is one of those virtues that takes it out of you. Straight to the gut. There’s no easy way through patience. It just is what it is, and you have it or you don’t.

During the cleanse, I wasn’t just gluten free; I couldn’t have grains altogether. That meant I couldn’t experiment with substitute flours or test out GF bread products and treats. Now that I’m on the other side, I am excited to sample the gamut of goods out there claiming to be “gluten free and fabulous.”

Image
After the long wait, I did it. I made some Mediterranean zza on an Udi’s crust. Not too bad.

As expected, GF products aren’t all too fabulous. They just get the job done. This week I tried Udi’s hamburger buns and pizza crusts, plus butternut squash ravioli by Pasta Prima. Like I said, it was a celebratory week. But just imagine: a whole month without pizza or salmon burgers or pasta. This is patience. Every bit torturous as one would predict, yet captivatingly simple when replaced with tasty meals capitalizing on the plethora of options still available to me.

Even though the bun wasn’t that grand, the beautiful creation that landed on my plate was worth the wait. My patience had paid off. And it was better because of it.

Salmon Wow Burger

Image

The trick, of course, is in the ingredients. Avocado is a must. But so are fresh tomato and sprouts. Plus pepper jack cheese for a bite.

Burger toppings

For the ultimate meal, there is no other option than a side of sweet potato fries.

Plate love

For dessert, a splendidly unexpected treat: Honey Dude’s comment of all comments. With enthusiasm in his eyes, and real food love crossing his face: “This is even better than a hamburger!” he gushed. If only you knew how powerful that statement was. I take it we’ll be making these again real soon.

5 thoughts on “Patience. And Salmon Wow Burgers

  1. Your burger looks fabulous! Artistic…like, out of a culinary school. “The two most powerful warriors are patience and time.” Tolstoy

  2. I would like to thank for the efforts you have put in writing this blog.
    I’m looking to see otherwebsite post from you in the future. please also excuse my bad english as its not my first language.

Please be a dear and comment on my post:

