gluten free · Making + Baking · recipes

Princess for a day. And lemon-cream stuffed gingerbread whoopie pies

One of the perks of my job at a nonprofit is our annual retreat, where all of our collective staff from Washington, Idaho, and Oregon gather (with our spouses) for a restful weekend at a nice, northwestern lodge.  Last year it was the swanky Coeur d’Alene resort and this year, the woodsy Heathman Lodge in Vancouver.

Being close to home, Honey Dude and I decided to check in early and enjoy a leisurely afternoon cuddled up in our large, King-size bed. It was so cozy and warm that it was in a deep sleep that I heard the sound of our door opening. Before anyone could round the corner and stumble into embarrassment, I squealed: “We’re in here!” Along with their quick apology, they left behind a gift basket filled with goodies.

ImageA very sweet gesture, I’ve always loved gift baskets. It’s the extra thought that gives them so much cred. But being gluten-free, I knew there wasn’t a chance I’d find anything Becky friendly included, save a bottle or two of water. I rifled through the stash and saw homemade cookies, candy, and granola bars. And then. Then! A very special treat tag with my name on it, accompanied by three palm-sized whoopie pies wrapped up for me, all me.

 Lemon Cream Stuffed Gingerbread Whoopie Pies (gluten free, dairy free, nut free)
Lemon Cream Stuffed Gingerbread Whoopie Pies (gluten free, dairy free, nut free)

I don’t even know where to begin. I was just so… shocked. I felt like a princess! Someone had gone the extra mile to make sure I could have a sweet treat, too. Not only that, they were epic. Gingerbread flavor done right. A delicate lemon stuffing. Melt-in-you-mouth soft, even! I tell you, it was like Christmas.

I’m still waiting on the recipe, but my guess is that this recipe is pretty close. I’ll have to try my hand at them soon, too. And then I’ll have to figure out which one of my GF friends I should gift them to. Because, really, food love is best when shared, isn’t it?

8 thoughts on “Princess for a day. And lemon-cream stuffed gingerbread whoopie pies

    1. Thank you! I didn’t mean to start a food blog, ha! But the cleanse sort of changed my life. Now I am way more aware of what I’m putting in my body. So I blog about it. Hahaha

Please be a dear and comment on my post:

