gluten free · Health · Making + Baking · recipes

Confessions of a food gawker. And Mango Chicken Black Bean Salad.

Sometimes I get online to post a blog and I just sit there for an hour, scanning other blogs, commenting, and enjoying the creative talent out there in the world. By the time I’m done, I usually have to get to work or get to bed. It’s not a sustainable habit. But there’s not enough time in the world to stalk all the blogs I love! Seriously. Does anyone else have this problem?

I blame the cleanse. It has gotten me recipe-obsessed. I don’t think Honey Dude minds. But my mind is constantly contemplating which new blog-discovered recipe I need to tackle next. And then I discovered foodgawker! (I know, I’m behind the times.) Such a bad drug, all of these food photos. Worse, it just makes me want to eat!

Yum MangoBut tonight we went back to a tried-and-true dinner favorite here in the Honey Hive. Mango Chicken Black Bean Salad. Oh my goodness, it is good. I’d been craving black beans, post-cleanse. And salty, crunchy tortilla chips! You certainly don’t need to pair this with the chips, but we discovered it by chance and can’t seem to go back.

The bonus of this recipe is that it’s easy, faultless, and full of flavor. Not to mention, we generally make a huge batch and enjoy it over the course of three days. Dinner in the fridge, ready to go? Award-winning, by nature.

Mango Chicken Black Bean Salad Mango Chicken Black Bean Salad

Ingredients:

  • 2 large chicken breasts
  • 1 large mango
  • 1 10-oz bag of frozen, organic corn, thawed
  • 1 can of black beans (or soaked and cooked beans, like we had waiting for us in the freezer)
  • 1/2 sweet bell pepper, chopped
  • 1 large handful of fresh cilantro, chopped
  • 1 tbsp mango preserves, or similar
  • 1 lime, juiced
  • 1 tbsp soy sauce (or tamari, gluten free)
  • 1 tbsp balsamic vinegar
  • salt and pepper, to taste

Directions:

  1. Cook chicken and cut into small, bite-sized pieces; season with salt and pepper
  2. In a large bowl, add the corn, beans, bell pepper, cilantro, mango, and chicken.
  3. In a small bowl, whisk together the remaining ingredients until emulsified. Pour over the chicken mixture; toss well.
  4. Dish into a couple of bowl, serve with tortilla chips and a spoon.
7 thoughts on “Confessions of a food gawker. And Mango Chicken Black Bean Salad.

  1. If it has mango and cilantro it has to be good…two of my favorite ingredients. I believe we will be having that tomorrow….minus the corn.

  2. Looks delicious as usual :) Great photos too ! I’ve had a similar problem with blog gawking lately. It’s hard to stop myself once I get started. I seem to do the same when I look on pinterest. I just love food photos and recipes.

    1. I know! It’s crazy addicting. And not smart when you’ve got a hankering for something sweet or bad for you!!!! Thanks for the love. You’re like my best blog friend forever (BBFF)!! :)

  3. Becky, I tried this tonight-so good! We liked the fresh flavor and texture of all the ingredients…I added some cucumber to add some green and made sure to use red bell peppers, also for the color. It was so easy and flavorful! Thanks :)

Please be a dear and comment on my post:

