Faith · Honey Dude · Love

He’s my biggest fan

They say things change when you get married. The gooey, over-the-top text messages. Holding hands. Wining and dining. Dressing up and curling your hair just for your man. I’m guilty as much as the next.

But things also change for the better. You begin to look out for one another in a powerful way. You advocate for them and encourage them. As they share the intimate depth of their being, fully exposed and vulnerable, you begin to see life through their eyes. You suffer hurt when they hurt, and when they thrive, you joy with them.

Garden 2013 006
Wrapped in Honey Dude’s big, old Carhartt jacket

I wish there was not even a lick of temptation to do otherwise. To put self first, as the world implies. We get wrapped up in our dreams and our struggles and our stressors of the moment and we forget. We forget to love like Christ loved.

While some dating do’s eventually faded, a few still linger strong. One of my favorites: My morning text message filled with love and encouragement. Today’s message from Honey Dude: I love you!!!! I am your biggest fan. 

And he is! I know he is, because of the countless ways he fulfills that statement. With his touch, his time, his words, his service, and his little, spontaneous gifts. I am my husband’s biggest fan. He doesn’t even have to tell me for me to hear it, or feel it deep within.

Of course, I am his biggest fan, too. I treasure that role! Plus, I don’t want anyone else in the world to show him the love  and respect that really should come from his wife, his other half. Yet do my actions and words and tone of voice always convey that? No. I fall short and come crawling back into his forgiving arms, always waiting with grace and tenderness.

The truth is, it is just one of many ways God speaks to me about His love for me. He is my biggest fan. He is always there for me. Always. Waiting for me, really. Waiting for me to receive His love! To just admit when I’m being stubborn or selfish or prideful and to allow Him the honor of comforting me, of wrapping around me like a big, puffy Carhartt jacket stitched with love and warmth.

 

“Therefore be imitators of God, as beloved children. And walk in love, as Christ loved us and gave himself up for us, a fragrant offering and sacrifice to God.” Ephesians 5:1-2

One thought on “He’s my biggest fan

Please be a dear and comment on my post:

