Health · Making + Baking · recipes

Daniel Fast Breakfast Burritos

A few days ago we started the three-week Daniel Fast, and it didn’t take us long to tire of oatmeal, or “mush” as my mother-in-law terms it. (Which is the perfect word for it, btw.) I mean, I never liked oatmeal to begin with. Now, without any sweeteners allowed, it is even more disgusting. I’ve tried blueberries, walnuts, and flaked coconut (unsweetened)… nope. Still gross.

So taking on my classic Saturday breakfast challenge to wow Honey Dude with something yummy, I had few options. I couldn’t reach for the sausage or bacon. I couldn’t whip up some eggs or pancakes. I couldn’t even press a rich brew of coffee (worst of all!).

So out came the tofu.

I know what you are thinking. Tofu? Yes. Tofu! Believe it or not, this block of soy can be crumbled and sauteed over med-high heat for something somewhat resembling scrambled eggs. It’s not a perfect match. And it certainly did not wow Honey Dude. But I actually loved it. Especially when wrapped up with some garden fresh spinach and avocado. My only seasonings: salt and pepper, plus lots of minced garlic sauteed in olive oil. I think I will make this again!        

2 thoughts on “Daniel Fast Breakfast Burritos

  1. Way to be creative! I’ve decided this whole Daniel fast would be easier if we had the Royal Chef cooking for us.

Please be a dear and comment on my post:

