Faith · Health · Honey Dude

Unhappy Honey Dude

Honey Dude is not a fan of the Daniel Fast. Let me rephrase. Honey Dude is not a fan of his new diet, as it relates to the Daniel Fast. We have both been blessed by the spiritual aspects of the fast, with more time dedicated to prayer and scripture, and more time listening to, and hearing from, God. For this alone is the purpose of the Daniel Fast.

But it is the way it affects our flesh that makes it so hard.

For Honey Dude, it is definitely hard. I mean, he is a serious meat-and-milk kinda guy. He can literally go through a gallon of milk in three days. Me, on the other hand? Loving it. (Minus my breakfast options.) I’m back to eating hummus daily and making quinoa bowls stacked with veggies, two things I oft did when I was single. But even though I enjoy the food, it pains me to know my husband is so unsatisfied. I realize now that I took great pride in providing for him meals made with love and affectionately praised. I didn’t realize how much I looked forward to those words of affirmation, proving daily that I was succeeding as Wifey.

Even though he wasn’t complaining (never does, in fact) and even substituted those glowing reviews with honest gratitude, it was the obvious lack of approval that bothered me. After all, half of my normal ingredients were off-limits. I needed some credit.

But that’s the thing with serving. You really can’t expect anything in return. You cannot expect praise or recognition or reciprocated treatment. Otherwise, the purpose of the gift is missed. Truly, a gift is best given cheerfully, with no strings attached. Oh, marriage can test you in that mindset, let me tell you. Yet a well-known verse comes to mind quite often these days, reminding me to gracefully serve my husband without expectation.

Each one must give as he has decided in his heart, not reluctantly or under compulsion, for God loves a cheerful giver. (2 Corinthians 9:7, ESV)

So instead of getting upset, I can use this time to support my husband as he adjusts to our new meal routine. That means not getting discouraged and routinely making bean burgers, Honey Dude’s single favorite discovery.

 

One thought on “Unhappy Honey Dude

Please be a dear and comment on my post:

